PDA

View Full Version : Confused please help enlighten me

RRJuggalo
01-24-2012, 06:02 PM
I am writing as your constituent in the 11th Congressional district of Texas. I oppose H.R.2811 - To amend title 18, United States Code, to include constrictor snakes of the species Python genera as an injurious animal., and am tracking it using OpenCongress.org, the free public resource website for government transparency and accountability.
I am a Disabled Combat Veteran and trying to ban the very animals I have as pets is not right. Many men and women in the U.S. Military have these same types of pythons as pets and this ban would prevent them from taking their animals with them when they move out of state.
This bill will also take away millions of dollars of revenue away from the U.S. if passed. Many breeders of these snakes in the U.S. will lose their main source of income and will be unemployed as well as the people they employ.
This bill was written on bogus science. It is a proven fact that Burmese Pythons can not live outside of southern Florida. In Texas you have to have a permit to own Burmese Pythons, North and South African pythons and Anacondas. I do agree with having to have permits and even a law about having to microchip a snake would be reasonable, but an all out ban is not.
I ask you in this letter to please oppose H.R.2811. Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee opposes this bill and 96% of users on OpenCongress.org, a free, non-partisan resource, oppose H.R.2811. So please help us in our fight to be able to keep the animals so many of us love. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Tommy Garrett

So this is a letter I sent to Congress woman Kay Bailey Hutchinson from Texas. Below is the email I recieved back. Now I'm confused. What is the return Email saying? Is it just me or is it saying she don't give a shit?

Dear Friend: