Thread: Please help me! Burm with RI

Please help me! Burm with RI

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and well this is my first post!

I've been keeping reptiles for quite a few years now, and this is the first time I have a sick reptile and it happens to be my 2.8m albino burm male..
    I have him since he was a baby!

Recently I noticed some wheezing, rubbing his nose against the sides of his cage and some other typical RI symptoms. I have done quite a lot of research and got some home remedies for treating RI but I will rather stay away from them as I don't want to put my poor boy's life in danger.

What I want to know from you guys is, would raising humidity and temperature have any effect? I am currently monitoring the housing conditions very attentively as I was wondering if I am maybe doing something wrong here. I know that I should go to the vet and get this poor guy treated properly but I just want to get to the cause first here and if raising humidity and temperature would help I would like to first give it a try!

Thank you for your reading

I would not really call it a RI yet, it could be just a cold. Is he yawning a lot, sneezing, stopped eating, hearing popping sounds?

Heat and Humidity are important, but more important is size of cage. They need to have a long enough space to stretch out, and they need some form of height to allow for gravity to pull out any mucus to expel, 6" is plenty.

Thank you Jermosh for your reply! I haven't seen him yawning, but I have noticed some sneezing the past two days. As far as eating goes... He doesn't want to take even a rat! Which gets me quite worrying because he never refused any food, even at shedding time.

Here is his enclosures dimensions:
    6ft long x 3ft high x 2ft deep
    (It was a Iguana cage first - see picture)

Currently in the enclosure for heating is:
    3x heating pads
    1x Ceramic Heat emitter (With a protecting cover)

Temperature ranges from 80.6F to 85F